London Handel Players

Monday 22nd January 2024
7:30pm at the Penrith Methodist Church
Tickets: £20 (students £5), at the door or in advance.

A Baroque treat!

Penrith Music Club’s first concert of 2024 will be given by the London Handel Players. Making their first visit to Penrith, this group of four players will be presenting a programme of music from the Baroque era of music for flute, violin, cello and harpsichord. The concert takes place in Penrith Methodist Church at 7.30pm on Monday January 22nd.

This is the first time for many years that the Music Club has had a concert of music from this earlier era. The programme will include music by well-known figures such as J.S. Bach and Handel and works by other composers who made a significant contribution to music of this time, such as Telemann, Domenico Scarlatti. Geminiani, Corelli and Fasch.

The four players – Rachel Brown (flute), Adrian Butterfield (violin), Sarah McMahon (cello) and Silas Woolston (harpsichord) - are all accomplished performers of Baroque music and their programme, Pearls of the Baroque, offers a wonderful opportunity to hear some of the great variety of attractive  music from this period.


Handel Trio Sonata in A major for flute, violin & continuo, op.5 no.1
J. S. Bach Sonata for flute and continuo in E minor, BWV 1034
Geminiani Trio Sonata in E major, op.1 no.10
Telemann Recorder Sonata in F minor
Handel Violin Sonata in D major, HWV 371
Telemann Paris Quartet no,3 in A major

More about the London Handel Players

Updated on 10th April 2024
Contact webmaster